Engine oil is one of the most important factors that maintain a car engine and help it work efficiently. The oil performs many important functions inside the engine, including lubricating the metal parts inside the engine, purifying it from impurities and dirt, and reducing the engine temperature.
There are three main types of engine oils, which are mineral oils, synthetic oils, and semi-synthetic oils, so what is the difference between them… and which is better for the engine?

First, the difference between the three types of oils:

Mineral oils
Mineral oils are produced from refining crude oil, where natural pollutants and unwanted hydrocarbons are removed, with minimal additives, and are used in “conventional” engines, older models, or engines without turbochargers, as they are more Thicker synthetic and semi-synthetic oils.

Synthetic oils
Synthetic oils contain fewer impurities than mineral oils to increase their performance and are therefore of better quality, because they are chemically modified, and are designed for high-performance engines, making them more suitable for modern and sports cars.

Semi-synthetic oils
It is a mixture of mineral oils and synthetic oils, by adding synthetic oil to mineral oil, which helps to improve performance and protection, so semi-synthetic oils offer a better quality ratio than mineral oils.

Experts prefer using synthetic oils over other oils for many of the advantages they offer, as follows:
Helps protect the engine and extend its life
Stable viscosity, even at high temperatures (unlike other oils)
It has high viscosity at low temperatures
It has a longer shelf life
Better prevent friction between metal engine parts

Consume less fuel

يعتبر زيت المحرك من أهم العوامل التي تحافظ على محرك السيارة وتساعد على عمله بكفاءة عالية، حيث يقوم الزيت بأداء العديد من الوظائف الهامة داخل المحرك، ومنها تزليج الأجزاء المعدنية داخل المحرك، وتنقيته من الشوائب والاتساخات، وخفض حرارة المحرك.
وهناك ثلاث أنواع رئيسية لزيوت المحرك، وهي الزيوت المعدنية، والزيوت التخليقية (اصطناعية)، وزيوت شبه تخليقية، فما هو الفرق بينهما.. وأيهما أفضل للمحرك؟

أولاً الفرق بين أنواع الزيوت الثلاثة:

– الزيوت المعدنية
الزيوت المعدنية يتم إنتاجها من تكرير النفط الخام، حيث تتم إزالة الملوثات الطبيعية والهيدروكربونات غير المرغوب بها، ويوجد بها الحد الأدنى من الإضافات، ويتم استخدامها في المحركات “التقليدية”، أو الموديلات القديمة، أو المحركات التي لا تحتوي على شواحن توربينية، حيث إنها أكثر سمكًا من الزيوت التخليقية والزيوت الشبة تخليقية.

– الزيوت التخليقية (الاصطناعية)
وتحتوي الزيوت التخليقية على شوائب أقل من الزيوت المعدنية لزيادة أدائها وبالتالي فهي ذات جودة أفضل، وذلك لأنها معدلة كيميائيًا، وهي مصممة للمحركات العالية الأداء، مما يجعلها أكثر ملاءمة للسيارات الحديثة والرياضية.

– زيوت شبه تخليقية
وهي مزيج من الزيوت المعدنية والزيوت التخليقية، وذلك عن طريق إضافة الزيت الاصطناعي إلى الزيت المعدني، مما يساعد على تحسين الأداء والحماية، بالتالي فإن الزيوت شبه تخليقية تقدم نسبة جودة أفضل من الزيوت المعدنية.

ويفضل الخبراء استخدام الزيوت التخليقية عن الزيوت الأخرى للعديد من المميزات التي تقدمها، وهي كالتالي:
– تساعد على حماية المحرك وإطالة العمر الافتراضي له
– لزوجة مستقرة، حتى في درجات الحرارة العالية (بعكس الزيوت الأخرى)
– تتمتع بلزوجة عالية في درجات الحرارة المنخفضة
– تمتلك فترة صلاحية أطول
– تمنع الاحتكاك بين أجزاء المحرك المعدنية بشكل أفضل
– تستهلك وقود أقل